New England Quilt Museum

Time for some serious nerdiness. My Mr. won husband of the year when he came with me to the New England Quilt Museum in Lowell. I was so excited! There was a special event going on, Summer Celebration of New England Quilts, so admission was free. We saw the most amazing quilts. I’ve never seen quilts like this before! Brace yourself for a lot of quilt photos.

peacock
My Peacock, 2014 – Julie Legere Hammersmith Quilters Guild

This one reminded me of Korean cushions and quilts. The colors, the gold threads, and the paisley shaped leaf patterns make me think of home. The tail is so beautifully done!

quilt4
Top: My Tree of Life, 2012 – Sandra Reynolds Bottom: The Civil War Bride Quilt, 2015 – Stella Blunt, quilted by Janet-Lee Santeusanio

I loved the tiny, tiny details on these quilts. Both were done using different techniques. It’s incredible how many different ways there are to make a quilt! The appliqué on both were done completely by hand.

Maggie Mae, 2014 - Penny J. Sander
Maggie Mae, 2014 – Penny J. Sander

I couldn’t believe what I was seeing with this quilt. The quilter collected batiks over time and pinned thousands of tiny rectangles of fabric on to the background and then machine stitched the entire thing. I have never seen anything like this! It’s like a painting.

eagle

Shoot, I didn’t get a photo of the sign that accompanied this quilt so I don’t know the quilter’s name! I was blown away by the quilting on this piece. Everything component of this quilt – the fabric, design, quilting – contributes to the story.

civil

These are actual Civil War era quilts. They were in such good condition! I stared and marveled at the beautiful quilting done by people who didn’t have access to sewing machines, cutting mats, rotary cutters and all the other tools we have access to today. What a blessing that these quilts have survived all these years. It’s either incredible luck or loving care that protected these quilts from decay. Incredible.

The one on the right is what’s known as a potholder quilt, a style of quilt making that was popular during the Civil War. Each square is like a little finished quilt complete with binding and several are sewn together to make a complete blanket.

quilt5

This was a special exhibit of Civil War era quilt designs. Quilters selected a real Civil War era quilt and recreated it. Some stuck with the original design and replicated it exactly, others used it as inspiration and created their own versions.

quilt3

Modern quilts. So many beautiful colors! Such tiny piecing!

IMG_2305
Mrs. S’s Garden, 2013 – Laura Salo Cornerstone Quilters Guild

I’m not really into batiks but this quilt is lovely. And I’m not just saying that because of the bunny! Batik’s are used beautifully in this quilt.

Thanks for walking through the New England Quilt Museum with me! This was only a tiny selection of the photos that I took. There’s so much more to see!

New England Quilt Museum
18 Shattuck Street
Lowell Massachusetts 01852

New England Quilt Museum

Leave a Reply

