Area Four

IMG_2094

I once cried over garlic knots. True story. Area Four in Cambridge has the best garlic knots in the world. One day, I had a fierce craving for Area Four garlic knots. For days I thought about them and we made plans for Sunday brunch. I saved up my appetite all morning. Please note that I am the type of person who goes to bed thinking about what I want to eat for breakfast the next day and I wake up hungry. So, we got to Area Four, plopped down at the bar, didn’t even open a menu and asked for an order of garlic knots. When the bartender told us that they didn’t serve garlic knots during brunch, I swear you could hear my heart shatter from three doors down. And then I got hangry. We left Area Four, disappointed and with growling stomachs.  My Mr. then Yelped other restaurants in the area trying to find something else but for some reason, all the places we could think of weren’t open! I felt like the universe didn’t want to feed me, I was so hungry and so disappointed about the garlic knots that I cried. Just a little. But anyways. This trip to Area Four had a much happier ending.

IMG_2088

IMG_2089

We ended up ordering two kinds of garlic knots! Their garlic knots are giant fluffy balls of sourdough, tossed in some magical mixture of seasonings that include pecorino, garlic, lemon zest (just the tiniest hint), and parsley; otherwise known as germolata. Chewy on the inside and crisp on the outside.The SUPREME garlic knots are baked in a tomato sauce and topped with lots of gooey mozzarella cheese.  Oh yeah. Two of these and I’m all set for the rest of the afternoon.

IMG_2091

And their pizza. Here’s the Not Pepperoni topped with sopressata, mozzarella, tomato, and pecorino. Our friend couldn’t get over how smooth and melty the mozzarella was.

IMG_2093

And here’s the Margherita. Their dough is made from a 12 year old starter and is fermented for more than 30 hours. That’s dedication. Delicious dedication.

Area Four
Kendall Square
500 Technology Square
Cambridge, MA 02139

Area Four

Leave a Reply

