Jury Duty and Gyros

I get called for jury duty more than anyone else I know. Every three years on the dot, I get my summons. I’m convinced that it can’t be random. Or maybe there’s a shortage of jurors in Boston. Either way, of course I had to get called in one last time before leaving Boston. I planned on getting there late. The summons always says to arrive by 8:00am but they never start until 9:00am! I decided to be a rebel and arrive at 8:15am! So of course I end up getting there at 7:45am. Fail. Still, it ended being one of my favorite jury duty experiences.

20150708_141128

I was in a different building than usual and it was beautiful, new, clean and quite frankly a little intimating but very nice. Our officer was nice and did a great job of explaining how our day would go. He also acknowledged that jury duty was kind of a pain which I appreciated. But the best part of my day was lunch. My Mr. recommended a Greek place he went to the last time he did jury duty. It’s called Zo’s. I wouldn’t call myself a Greek food enthusiast but I LOVED Zo’s.

20150708_131030

Everything about this gyro was perfect. The pita was warm, soft, and so fluffy… like your favorite winter quilt. The meat was piping hot, tender, and flavorful. I don’t know what’s in their tzatziki sauce but it’s like no other tzatziki sauce I’ve ever tasted. Their tomatoes are marinated in a delicious, tangy sauce that makes the whole thing taste bright. So many delicious flavors and textures! I inhaled the entire thing and then got sad because it was all gone. It was the perfect meal and one of the best things I’ve ever eaten. They’re located by Government Center and Faneuil Hall and operate a few trucks in the big business areas. But they’re only open during lunch on weekdays. Breaks my heart. It makes me want to do jury duty again. It’s that good.

Faneuil Hall
92 State Street
Boston, MA 02108-1909
(617) 227-0101

Government Center
3 Center Plaza
Boston, MA 02109
(617) 227-0101

Jury Duty and Gyros

Leave a Reply

